top of page

Easy Christmas Garland for Under $5!


Pom-Pom garlands have been all the rage over on Instagram and Pinterest lately. Some of the pom-pom garlands can cost upwards of $30, but with tutorial you'll learn how make a comparable garland for under $5!


What You Need

  • 2 packages of poms-poms of choice (I found mine at Dollar Tree)

  • Foam snowflakes (I found mine at Dollar Tree)

  • A bundle of embroidery thread

  • A large eyed needle


1. Decide Pattern


The first thing you will need to do is sort through your pom-poms and decide on a patter. If you bought an assorted pack of pom-poms with different sizes like I did, you will also need decide on how big you want your poms to be. I decided to pull the largest sizes from both bags and alternate red and white pom-poms. For my second garland, I chose a pattern of two small white poms and then one foam snowflake. Don't be afraid to get creative with it! You can always pull them off and start fresh if you don't like your design.



2. String the Poms


The second step is string your poms on your thread. I chose to use embroidery thread because of it's thickness, but other threads could work just as well. I began by measuring the length of the table I wanted to hang my garland from. I then doubled this in the length of string. I threaded the embroidery thread through the large-eyed needle and began threading the poms. Make sure that when you thread the poms you go through the exact center to keep the pom-poms from breaking of falling off the thread. For my second garland I used the same method, I just threaded the foam snowflakes as well.


3. Hang the Garland and ENJOY!

There you have it! The easiest and cheapest garland how-to! If you try it out make sure to tag me on Instagram @astraindesign.


15 views0 comments
bottom of page